Celo x Huobi: Stablecoin
in Web3 & Sustainability

23 May - 24 June 2022

Overview

DeFi is where the crypto hype started, and it will continue to be. And for the last year, we’ve seen the rapid rise of Web3 and DAO tide and the creator economy in the space. We wanted to see what could be built, beyond the horizons of the current reality.

 

Enter stablecoins, a digital currency that is pegged to a reserve asset and designed to be volatility-free. The adoption of stable coins was the turning point we saw that DeFi is not a financial silo and potentially anchors the real world.

 

The interactive and interoperable landscape has formed. Stablecoins and DeFi need to pace up with ever-needed demand in many realms. At the crossroads of climate and crypto, it begs the question — How can we revitalize stablecoin system and catalyze inclusive, interactive, user-owned solutions?

 

At the Celo x Huobi hackathon, we aim to bring together incredible people working on innovative solutions to not only sustain our planet, but define what the Web3.0 mobile DeFi landscape will look like. Sign up for the Celo x Huobi: Stablecoin in Web3 & Sustainability Hackathon, today.

Challenges

Spanning across 3 tracks, the challenge here is to integrate stablecoins with different aspects of the Web3 space.

Stablecoins +
dApps Solution

This challenge focuses on building stablecoin-related financial solutions on Celo, with a focus on –

  1. Expand the use of Celo Dollar (cUSD) to emerging markets with high rates of inflation or;
  2. Explore payment tools and middleware.

Stablecoins +
DAOs

The second challenge surrounds projects that integrate stablecoins with DAOs, including credit-based finance, crowdsource platforms/venture DAO, and decentralized charity.

 

Project ideas to get you started:

  • Credit-based Finance: Credit lending, collateral lending for financially-undeserved groups
  • Crowdsource Platform/Venture DAO: Democratic funding to meaningful causes such as climate change, education, etc.

Stablecoins + DeFi mobile solutions

The third and last challenge concerns uniting stablecoins with DeFi mobile solutions in order to integrate a Web3 component into DeFi.

 

Project ideas to get you started:

  • DeFi + Earn: Inclusive income growth for Celo users in emerging markets, including micro income stream aggregator asset management and reinvestment tools
  • Mobile DeFi + SocialFi: Create identity and social network mapping tools, information push channel
  • DeFi + Interoperability: Migration of infrastructure, users, assets, and devs from other chains

Prizes

The stakes are high — we’ve got a prize pool of 500,000 cUSD.

Overall Winner

Grand Prize

100,000 cUSD 

• Listing opportunity
• Hackathon Premium Swag box

Per Challenge Statement

Track Winner

50,000 cUSD

 

• Listing opportunity

• Hackathon Premium Swag box

Runner Ups x3

15,000 cUSD 


• Hackathon Premium Swag box

Most Innovative Project

5,000 cUSD 


• Hackathon Premium Swag box

Climate Change Bonus

Awarded to teams that integrate climate change/carbon credit

5,000 cUSD

on top of any prizes above

 

*Bonus will be given out until the 100,000 cUSD pool is fully drawn out

Hackathon Schedule

May 4, 2022
Pre-Hackathon Community Event #1

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

May 11, 2022
Pre-Hackathon Community Event #2

5AM PST / 12PM GMT / 5:30PM IST

May 23, 2022
Opening Ceremony

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

May 23, 2022
Virtual Networking

12AM PST / 7 PM UTC / 12:30AM IST (Tuesday, May 24)

May 25, 2022
Core Content Session #1

2AM PST / 9AM UTC / 2:30PM IST

May 25, 2022
Technical Workshop #1

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

May 27, 2022
Education Webinar #1

2AM PST / 9AM UTC / 2:30PM IST

May 27, 2022
Technical Workshop #2

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

May 30, 2022
Core Content Session #2

2AM PST / 9AM UTC / 2:30PM IST

May 30, 2022
Core Content Session #3

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

June 1, 2022
Education Webinar #2

2AM PST / 9AM UTC / 2:30PM IST

June 1, 2022
Technical Workshop #3

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

June 3, 2022
Mentor Office Hours

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

June 8, 2022
Mentor Office Hours

2AM PST / 9AM UTC / 2:30PM IST

June 10, 2022
Mentor Office Hours

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

June 15, 2022
Mentor Office Hours

2AM PST / 9AM UTC / 2:30PM IST

June 17, 2022
Mentor Office Hours

11AM PST / 6PM GMT / 11:30PM IST

June 19, 2022
Submission Deadline

4:55PM PST / 11:55PM UTC / 5:25 AM IST (Monday, June 20)

June 20 - 23, 2022
Judging Period

1PM ET / 5 PM GMT / 10:30 PM IST

June 24, 2022
Closing Ceremony

11AM PST / 6 PM UTC / 11:30PM IST

Judging Criteria

Our judges will grade submissions across 4 equally-weighted categories:

Impact and Usefulness

How impactful and useful the submission is in the Celo ecosystem as a whole?

Originality, Creativity
and Innovation

How new and novel the submission is versus existing technologies?

Technical Difficulty

What is the level of skill or knowledge required to build the submission?

Mass Usability

How feasible is the idea? How adaptable is it across other integrations?

FAQs

The event will be held from May 23 to June 24, 2022.

This event is open to all! Whether you’re an experienced blockchain or non-blockchain developer, want to learn more about building on/for Celo and Huobi, or are entirely new to the Web3 space, we welcome you!

 

As long as you are a legitimate citizen who are not within our list of ineligible countries, with an internet connection and is 18 years old and above. Please refer to the eligibility restrictions section on Participation Agreement.

Yes! We want anyone with ideas or the passion to innovate to participate. Teams will however need at least one individual who can build/code a prototype as a code artefact is required for project submission.

The minimum number of participants in a team is 1, while the maximum number is 5.

Teams are recommended to be formed within your own locations & time zones to avoid time zone fatigue but this is not mandatory. You can choose to join a team located in another time zone as well.

Yes! Only registered individuals are eligible to participate. Please ensure that all members of your team have registered their teams accordingly as well.

While participants can submit a project individually, we encourage everyone to form teams (of up to a maximum of 5 members) where possible to make the ideation and development process more enjoyable!

Community Partner